Join Now

The 2021 APA Utah Fall Conference

2021 APA Utah Fall Conference

September 9-10, 2021
Mid-valley Performing Arts Center
Taylorsville, Utah

Conference Program

The 2021 APA Utah Fall Conference is replete with topics and speakers that represent the most pressing issues facing the planning community. The conference program contains a complete agenda and brief bios on all of the speakers and presenters.



Speakers listed alphabetically by last name.

= Keynote

Brent Bateman

Dentons Durham Jones Pinegar

Ryan Beck

Vice President of Planning
Envision Utah

Ralph Becker, FAICP

FAICP planner

Alex Beim, AICP

Strategic Planner
Utah Transit Authority (UTA)

John Berggren

Water Policy Analyst
Western Resource Advocates

Anthony Biamont

Student, Master of City and Metropolitan Planning
University of Utah

Natalia Brown

Transportation Engineer
Fehr & Peers

Craig Call

Executive Director
Utah Land Use Institute

Mike Christensen, AICP

Executive Director
Utah Rail Passengers Association

Ryan Clark, AICP

Development Services Director
City of Orem

Gary R. Crane

City Attorney
Layton City

Jordan Cullimore

Lead Attorney
Office of Property Rights Ombudsman

Christy Dahlberg

Wasatch Front Regional Council

Cameron Diehl

Executive Director
Utah League of Cities and Towns

Reid Ewing, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor of City and Metropolitan Planning
University of Utah

Erik Fronberg

Community Development Grant Specialist
Salt Lake City Housing Stability Division

Robert Gillies

Utah Climate Center at Utah State Univeresity

Todd Godfrey

Legal Counsel for Land Use

Laura Hanson, AICP

State Planning Coordinator
Governor's Office of Planning and Budget

Clint Harper

Urban Air Mobility Partnership
Urban Movement Labs and the City of Los Angeles

Anders Hart

Active Transportation Intern
University of Utah Sustainability Office

Kathy Holder

Hazard Mitigation Officer
State of Utah

Aimee Horman

Outreach & Education Manager
Jordan River Commission

Max Johnson, AICP

Mitigation Planner
State of Utah, Division of Emergency Management

Marcie Jones

Office of the Property Rights Ombudsman

Todd Kelsey, AIA, LEED A.P.

Method Studio

Ted Knowlton, AICP

Deputy Director
Wasatch Front Regional Council (WFRC)

Tony Kohler, AICP

Planning Director
Heber City

Kate Kopischke

Scenic Utah

Jon Larsen, PE

Director of the Transportation Division
Salt Lake City

Justin Lee

Director of Government Relations

Steve Lehman, AICP

Planning Manager
West Valley City

Blaine Leonard

Transportation Technology Engineer

Ben Levenger, AICP

Downtown Redevelopment Services

Francis Lily, AICP

Planning Director
Millcreek City

Cody Lutz

Planning Project Manager
Envision Utah

Dr. Susan Madsen

Inaugural Karen Haight Huntsman Endowed Professor of Leadership
Jon M. Huntsman School of Business at Utah State University

Sadika Maheruma Khan

Teaching and Research Assistant
University of Utah

Michael Maloy, AICP

Planning Director
Herriman City

McKenna Marchant

Community Development Specialist
Utah's Community Development Office

Eric Martineau

Mitigation Specialist
Utah Division of Emergency Management’s Mitigation and Recovery Section

Kayla Mauldin

Senior Long Range Planner
Greater Salt Lake Municipal Services District (MSD)

Eric McCulley

Regional Director

Mark McGrath, AICP

Director of Community Development
City of Taylorsville

Tom Millar

Transportation Planner and Designer

Nikki Navio, AICP

Transportation Planner
Wasatch Front Regional Council

Erin O'Kelley

Long Range Planner
Greater Salt Lake Municipal Services District

Christie Oostema, AICP

Urban Planner
People + Place

Lynn Pace

City Attorney
Sandy City

Alan Packard

Assistant General Manager and Chief Engineer
Jordan Valley Water Conservancy District

Bruce Parker, AICP

Planning and Development Services, LLC

Steve Pastorik, AICP

Community Development Director
West Valley City

Dave Petersen, AICP

Community Development Director
Farmington City

Luke Peterson

Director & Editor of the Innovation Lab
Salt Lake Tribune

Angela Price

Policy Director
SLC Department of Community and Neighborhoods (CAN)

Jim Price, AICP, MPA

Active Transportation Planner/Project Manager
Mountainland Association of Governments

Makaylah Respicio-Evans

Planning Project Manager and Community Engagement Specialist,
Envision Utah

Meg Ryan

Senior Land Use Manager
Utah League of Cities & Towns

Steven Schaefermeyer

Director of Planning
City of South Jordan

Soren Simonsen, AICP, FAIA, LEED AP

Executive Director
Jordan River Commission

Wilf Sommerkorn

Deputy Executive Director
Utah Land Use Institute

Rikki Sonnen

Traffic Performance Engineer in the Freeway Performance Group

Matthew Starley

Landscape Architect and Bioregional Planner
Bear River Association of Governments (BRAG)

Austin Taylor

Board Member
Congress of New Urbanism Utah Chapter.

Matt Taylor, AICP

Senior Planner
City of Orem

Shawn Teigen

Research Director and Vice-President
Utah Foundation

Chad Thomas

Director of Business Development
Iredell County Economic Development Corporation

Stephanie Tomlin

Modeling Program Manager

Megan Townsend

Community and Economic Development team
Wasatch Front Regional Council

Gary Uresk

City Administrator
Woods Cross City

Hugh Van Wagenen

Active Transportation Planner
Wasatch Front Regional Council

Steve Waldrip

Utah State Legislature

Kirsten Whetstone

Chapter President
APA Utah

Janna Wilkinson

Section Manager
Utah Division of Emergency Management’s Mitigation and Recovery Section

Jake Young, AICP

Planning Program Manager
SLCo Regional Development

Ivis Garcia Zambrana, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, City and Metropolitan Planning
University of Utah

APA Utah is Powered by

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Bronze Sponsors